Back again to the BCS Raspberry Pi Bootcamp (DigiMakers) @Bristol

Posted: November 13, 2013 in General, Hardware Kits, News, Raspberry Pi, The MagPi Magazine
Image from RPiSpy's blog about alternative lenses for the Raspberry Pi - click on image to see it (showing @Bristol's rather iconic Planetarium)

Image from RPiSpy’s blog about alternative lenses for the Raspberry Pi – click on image to see it (showing @Bristol’s rather iconic Planetarium)

This Saturday we are once again going to be at the BCS (British Computing Society) Raspberry Pi Bootcamp located in the amazing @Bristol Science Centre.

This time the theme is Robots!


The MagPi stand drop-in

The MagPi stand ( will be there as usual to offer informal discussions, tips and tricks for using the Raspberry Pi.  The tremendously friendly and helpful Colin Deedy will be on hand to answer all of your questions or to just talk Pi for a while if you wish to do so.  We will also have the MagPi Volume 1 bundles and also the PiHardware kits available to buy from the stand.

Be sure to pick up a copy of Colin’s helpful tips for Making Robots!

I’ll be popping back and forth too and on display from me will be the robots which are you can make by following Chapter 9 of my book:

Raspberry Pi Cookbook for Python Programmers

The book is rammed full of absolutely everything I could think of that the Raspberry Pi is great at doing (trust me when I say this…that is a lot of stuff!)…

Each Chapter focuses on a different topic each aiming to show how you can get the best out of the Raspberry Pi in that specific area, while at the same time introducing how to use Python 3 effectively.

All in all this makes a fun and varied collection of examples, projects and practical things to try out.

Available at the end of the year, I hope it becomes a valuable reference for people, weighing in at a massive 350+ pages, there is a ton of exceptionally useful content (I hope so anyway, I often use it to look things up myself).

Raspberry Pi Cookbook for Python Programmers (available on pre-order from Packt Publishing, Amazon, Barnes & Noble and coming soon to Safari and O’Reilly)



Above, the PiRover from the book.


The PiBug (hexpod) which has also been created from the book.

See you there!


For me things will be a little different as I will have my very little Pi-oneer ( is a bad pun…I am not ashamed) with me.  Even Liz Upton from the Raspberry foundation can attest to her enthusiasm (

The BCS workshops are nothing without the attendance of the parents/teachers and kids there to experience the Raspberry Pi, so my little girl has been very keen to come along.

I look forward to joining in with everyone else at the workshops and I think it will be yet another excellent day of Raspberry Pi fun.  I hope to have lots more interesting chats about what you are doing with the Raspberry Pi and what information/help would be useful!

  1. […] we visited @Bristol a few weekends ago (readers of previous posts will know this is the home of the Bristol Digi-Makers events, which we attend for the MagPi stand), this time though we were visiting the science center which […]

Leave a Reply

